Gaming rig, need criticism

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jaysin

Baseband Member
OK so this is my first build in 10yrs, so that purty much makes me a newb, so if somethings wrong please feel free to blast me. Also this isnt the TOP of the line gaming rig, just something i can keep med settings on most the games i play, Rift, Fallout, Dora's pretty pony paridise-just making sure your paying attn lol.

GIGABYTE GA-890XA-UD3 AM3 AMD 790X SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

Thermaltake Element G VL18501W2Z Black SECC / Plastic ATX Mid Tower Computer Gaming Case w/ 850W Modular Power Supply (looks like it will keep things cool)

PowerColor AX6850 1GBD5-DH Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity (x2 one day, y i got the 850w built-in PSU)

AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor HDT90ZFBGRBOX

G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10600) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-10600CL9D-4GBPK x 2(cheaper getting 2 packs)(or was???)

Seagate SV35 Series ST3500411SV 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive

HP Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 12X DVD+R DL 12X DVD-RAM 16X DVD-ROM 48X CD-R 32X CD-RW 48X CD-ROM SATA 24X Multiformat DVD Writer

Win7 OS (if I left this out you know someone would said something!) 64bit (that too)

Be gentle.......

I can really only suggest on two changes here... Firstly, the case with the built in PSU. I'm sure the case is fine, though I've been led to believe stock PSU's are not what you should should be looking for when putting together a rig like this. You can probably find another decent case, shaving off that price for the built in PSU and getting a decent one. Try an Antec or Corsair.

Secondly would be the hard drive. Your neweggs listing of your hard drive is $59.99 + $6.29 shipping. Where as for $3.71 more you can get this one...