Overclocking GTX 460

Status
Not open for further replies.

Skiller.

In Runtime
As some of you know, I just built this desktop PC with a MSi GTX 460 Cyclone 1 GB.

Using Afterburner, I was able to achieve Clocks of: Core 875, Memory 1000, Shader 1750 @ 1.0v. The default clocks on this card are 726/900/1451. I did this in about 15 minutes, so I feel with more effort, I could achieve a better overclock. As of now, my temps only reach about 68*C in Furmark after 30 minutes. Is Furmark a good indication of stability, etc?

Thanks!

I can't really provide much info on it, since I am no overcloking expert..

I am waiting my new parts for a pc this tuesday, and I got the Hawk version of your card. How did you do it? Like did you raise the core's by 2's 4's etc..? Then you ran a stability test?

It's really easy with Afterburner. Just adjust the core clock and the shader clock automatically adjusts so it stays in a 2:1 ratio. You should be able start at 800 core with the stock voltage. From there, I increased by 25 MHz each time until 900 MHz was not stable at 1.0v. Then I decreased by 5 MHz until it was stable. 885 MHz was stable for me, so I use 880 to be safe.

I have no idea how much the memory clock should be increased, that's why I posted this topic, but I am sure of the core clock. I know once you find the max stable core, you should then increase the memory. The memory clock on my card seemed to be stable at 2190, but I don't know if that's safe, so I just set it to 2100 MHz.

I use Furmark to test initial stability (run for 5 mins after each increase). Once the core is maxed out, then run furmark for 30 mins. After that, I usually run 3dmark a couple times to make sure it's stable. Games are also a good indicator.