getting a new PC, not sure about RAM or video card

Status
Not open for further replies.

zeroality

Beta member
My family surprised me by letting me order a refurbished one from the Dell Outlet today and it'll be here by Friday.

AMD Athlon II X2 240 (2.8GHz, 2MB L2 Cache)
2 GB DDR3 SDRAM 1066MHz (2 DIMMs)
320 GB SATA II Hard Drive (7200 RPM)
16X DVD +/- RW w/dbl layer write capability
Windows 7 Home Premium

I was wondering if you guys thought 2GB of RAM at these speeds would be enough for multitasking or do I need to get another 2GB stick? I'm not familiar with how much memory Windows 7 demands. I've been using XP for the last 4 years so I am far behind in knowing how much resources the latest Windows OS takes up.

I tend to have Firefox, Notepad2, instant messaging, Media Player Classic, and an antivirus running at most times. Then occasionally I will need to use Photoshop or FTP software, as well as other such odds and ends.

As for the video card, the computer is coming with integrated graphics. I don't know how much memory the onboard system has, or if it will be using any of the RAM. I would really like to get a dedicated video card but I'm not sure how to go about doing that.

If I get one, will I have problems disabling the integrated graphics system? How do I know which one to get, in terms of hardware compatibility? I'd probably want a 1GB card, and I'm not partial about whether I get Nvidia or ATI.

I'd like to note that this system is a 1.6 GHZ Celeron with 1GB of DDR2 memory so I am in for a huge step forward. :)

I think the minimum requirements for windows 7 is 2GB of RAM. I would suggest poking around for some more RAM, try newegg.com and shoot for around 3-4GB's @ 1333(speed). The processor seems a little too low to handle anything too graphics intensive without the use of a video card. So I would look into one of those as well. Of course you'll need to know what kind of power supply your running with/for these upgrades.