New build. Help a noob.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rokor

Baseband Member
Hey forum. I recently decided it was time for a new computer, but I'm relatively new to this, so I'm looking for some help. I put together a list of what I think I want, but I'm not sure about the compatability. This is what I have so far;

Motherboard-Asus sabertooth X58
CPU-Intel Core i7-950, 3.06 GHz, 8mb cache
Memory-Compatability on this confuses me a bit. Advice would be greatly appreciated.
Video Card-Galaxy GeForce GT220
Sound card-Asus xonar DG 5.1
Hard drive-Seagate ST32000542AS Barracuda LP hard drive (2tb)
Case-Xion AXP100 atx mid.
Power supply-Something else I need help with. I hear the AXP100 has problem with the stock power supply so I want to upgrade it right away. Problem is, I have no idea what specs to be looking for.
CPU cooler-Noctua NH-D14
DVD burner-Samsung SH-B123L Blu Ray Combo Drive

Since this is all new to me, I don't know if these are good products or not. That's why I'm asking here. Is there anything you would change? I have a budget of around 1300-1400$ for just the computer(I already have the monitor, keyboard, mouse, sound system). Thanks in advance!

It would have been, but tommorrow Intel releases the 1155 platform, aka SandyBridge, making your build old. And surprisingly it wilkl cost bout the same.

You spec'd a great cpu and a pretty low gpu.

Umnless you like the AXP100 case, its a waste to buy 2 psus..... If you like the case looks... oh well.

The nh-d14 is Huge! i'd save room and money and go with the nh-u12. They cool very simular.

But ALOT changes tommorro, and with your budget, its well worth the wait.

Welcome to TF BTW.

What gpu do you suggest? And I won't be ordering today, so I'll wait for the 1155 CPUs. Case wise, I'm looking for something with LEDs and style. I want this thing to look good. Should I be looking for something in specific in a case?

To suggest a gpu, we'll need to know your planned use.