max bang/budget build

Status
Not open for further replies.

Gearhead3990

Solid State Member
Hey guys, I've been tinkering with the idea of doing my first computer build for a while now, and I've decided to take my Christmas money and do it. I am a college student, and I do not have much money to spend, so I am going for max bang for the buck. I would like this to be a well-rounded machine, capable of doing work for school, web surfing, multimedia/HD video, as well as some occasional light to moderate gaming. I plan on building it phases, the first being major internal components. I will run on an old IDE DVD drive, and IDE hard drive running windows XP for the time being, and continue to upgrade parts over the next year or so. I have all of the parts picked out for phase 1.

What does anyone think of this combination?

Mother Board:
Newegg.com - ASUS M4A785TD-M EVO AM3 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard

CPU:
Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X2 555 Black Edition Callisto 3.2GHz 2 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 80W Dual-Core Desktop Processor - C3 Revision HDZ555WFGMBOX

PSU:
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER GX Series RS750-ACAAE3-US 750W ATX12V v2.31 SLI Ready 80 PLUS BRONZE Certified Active PFC Power Supply

Ram:
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBRL

Looking at the processor, it looks like all of the reveiwers on newegg were able to unlock at least one additional core. Also has excelent overclocking ability.

As for the power supply, I wanted to go with a 750Watt Antec, but since I am stuffing this build in an old oem HP midtower, the antec is too long. The coolermaster was one of the shortest I could find, and the reviews on newegg were excelent.

The mother board has a lot of features for the price, and good reviews.

Same goes for the Ram.

Thanks for reading this long post, and any feedback would be appreciated.