Upgrading computer - suggestions?

Status
Not open for further replies.

AA-ron

Baseband Member
Hey all, first time poster here.

I built my computer about a year and a half ago and I'm looking to upgrade. Its been a long time since I've looked into whats new out there, and quite frankly, I cant tell whats good and what works with what. I'm a digital artist, so most of the work I do is very processor and memory intensive.
Heres my current setup:
Asus M3N78 Pro (hybrid SLI) motherboard with built in GeForce 8300
GeForce 9800GT
AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+
8 GB of OCZ SLI PC6400 DDR2 Ram (I think its 2 4GB sticks, out of 4 available slots)

Can I just add another stick or does it need to be matched/paired memory?
I'm looking to upgrade from 8 GB to maybe 16 GB.
If anyone has any suggestions, tips or ideas, it would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks in advance!

You are in need of a Processor upgrade more than ram. A quad core upgrade would be my suggestion. Got a budget for this upgrade?

Welcome to TF!!! :thumbsup:

EDIT: Sorry should have answered your question. You want to buy ram in pairs to keep dual channel compatibility.

Thanks for the response. I plan on saving up for this upgrade so I'd like to know what a good or ideal setup would be :) I also have the Max Orb cooling fan/heat sink. It works very well so a more beefy processor should be cooled nicely.
Whats the benefits of DDR3 to DDR2?..other than a hefty price difference.

8GB is plenty, even if it is DDR2.

With a BIOS flash you can use up through an Athlon II x4 640 or a Phenom II x4 965. Sorry, no hex cores and I guess they haven't tested a Phenom II x4 970 yet. Like Abstract said, a quad CPU upgrade would be your best upgrade right now.

Second would be a GFX card upgrade. A 9800GT is equal to a GT250 nowadays. A 460 GTX (Fermi) would be a nice drop-in if you want to stay with Nvidia, or a 4850/5770/4870/5830/5850/6850 if you are willing to switch to the red team.