Upgrading my Dell XPS 420

Status
Not open for further replies.
You're not going to be able to move cases due to the motherboard you have. Cooling your system comes down to do you have any slots to put more fans?

As far as the actual upgrade in performance I stand by what I suggested.

I dunno if I have any slots for fans or whatever

do you know if the PSU you linked earlier will fit my computer and if it will cool it down?

It's people saying stuff like some of the stuff here that makes me worried about finding a fan online that works, since they seemed to mention stuff in the way or measuring or something and I'm just a huge noob that doesn't know much about computer hardware.

I did some research. Your motherboard is a BTX. While there used to be soem case on the market for them, they are all gone now. What few I found would not be an upgrade for you.

Rigging up a fan like what you linked to would be a good idea. Looking at the pic posted there I doubt anything bigger than an 80mm would fit. A 92mm would really be pushing the space, but it might be possible... you would probably only be able to secure two opposing corners. Stay with an 80.

We can recommend you a better graphics card, but we really need a ballpark figure to work with.

Thanks.

So can someone link me to a recommended fan that would fit my case (as in apparently an 80mm one?) And would it be simple to put in?

As for video cards, well, will any of the video cards these days work completly with my Dell XPS 420?

I have a lot of money, but I wouldn't want to pay like 300 dollars more for a video card that's just 1% better than a much cheaper video card or something. I'll probably google which cards are the best and order one of those or something.

And will I probably need a new power supply if I get a new video card, and if so then what should I get as long as it fits my XPS 420 case and stuff?