monitor not connecting to computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

bigdan

Daemon Poster
I have a Samsung SyncMaster 2333 monitor. It was plugged into my laptop for the last year, no real issues. I've just moved it over to my desktop and its not connecting! What on earth could be causing this?

The last monitor was connected fine an hour ago. I plugged this one in without shutting down and after that it didnt get picked up. I shutdown the computer (by pressing the button - remember I couldnt see the start button b/c the monitor wasnt working), but after starting it again it still didnt get picked up. Then I reset (by button) again not working. I disconnected the monitor from the computer and the screen changed immediately. Whereas its blank for the most part, when I disconnected it I got some screen which kinda registered the fact that its not connected to anything.

There's some buttons on the size of the monitior, besides Power there's an Auto button, and a few others I assume having to do w/ size and shape of screen. Pressing them randomly hasnt done much. Turning the monitor on/off hasnt helped.

Please advise!

Thanks
Dan

When you plug in this monitor onto your laptop, does your laptop screen go blank also or just the monitor? If it's just the monitor, try hooking up the monitor, when it goes blank, check the setting on your laptop to see if your 2nd display is set to show or disabled.

ive hooked my laptop back to the monitor and its working fine. im not sure if we had a disconnect, i was saying the monitor isnt connecting to my desktop, not my laptop.

problem is solved.

the first thing i did to troubleshoot (before i posted) was to see if the monitor is actually connected. it was indeed.

i plugged in my old one to verify that was still working. that wasnt either. both worked w/ my laptop.