First time build, need advice.

Status
Not open for further replies.

KJamesJR

In Runtime
I just made plans to build my own custom PC. I've never done it before, and I'm not very hardware savvy as far as computers go. However, I have been doing some research these past couple of nights and have compiled a "shopping list". It is as follows...

943PK mATX mini tower w/ 500w PS.

3x3 XDW Case Fan

Hard Drive cooler

Samsung TS-H492 optical drive

Biostar A780L3L AMD 760G Socket AM3 mATX Motherboard w/DVI, Video, Audio, LAN & RAID

AMD Athlon II X4 3GHz Processor w/ factory cooling fan

Seagate Barracuda 7200.12 ST31000528AS 1TB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s

GSKILL F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL Ripjaws 8GB (2x4gb) DDR3 1333

This is basically everything. I don't know if I'm missing anything... Anyways, I had a few concerns. The motherboard for starters. Is it any good? The HDD, is this a reliable quality manufacturer, and will I get long life out of it? Also due to the fact it's a mini case, will I have heating issues? Should I look into a few more fans? As of now I plan on running the integrated graphics accelerator, however I do plan to upgrade it in the future. And thoughts or suggestions?

Note: I'm am posting this in the "Advanced" thread because I wanted a little more performance out of this machine then the norm, though I'm obviously on a budget...

case and power supply is crap

wow that case fan is crap

lol you dont need a hard drive cooler

optic drive is good

mother board is garbage

processor is slow

hdd is good

you dont need 8 gigs of ram, 4 is enough...

you didnt list a graphics card.

ill be honest, thats a pretty bad build, i dont mean to bash on you, thats just the way it is. but dont fret, i got you. what is your budget and what are you going to be using this computer for?

we will put together a build list that will smash on this for about the same price... and by we, i mean muffin man or trotter...