Building a 1k USD graphics machine - how does it look so far?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Noppina

Beta member
Hi there :) this is my first time building and I'm looking for some feedback on my planned setup. I'm hoping to spend around 1000 USD but I have a little bit of wiggle room.

CPU: Intel Core i7-950 Bloomfield 3.06GHz LGA 1366 130W
Heatsink: COOLER MASTER Hyper 212
MoBo: GIGABYTE GA-X58A-UD3R LGA 1366 Intel X58
GPU: GIGABYTE GV-N460OC-1GI GeForce GTX 460 (Fermi) 1GB
PSU: ??? Need advice !!
HDD: Not sure... looking for 1TB
Memory: CORSAIR XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (I think this is compatible, right?)
Case: COOLER MASTER RC-692-KKN2 CM690

Monitors: ViewSonic VP2365WB 23-Inch IPS LCD x2 (note: I already have these - they are not included in the total target price)

Keyboards/Speakers/Mouse: Already have 'em

I'm a student looking to use this machine mainly for photography, painting, and design in Adobe CS5 with some video editing here and there which is why I went with the Nvidia to make the most of the CUDA acceleration. I don't do gaming and don't want to OC this machine.

Am I missing anything?

Everything looks good cept the ram. You have a dual channel kit listed and you need a triple channel kit. Itll be in 3, 6, or 12gb flavor.

For a HDD anything Seagate or Western Digital flavor will be fine. Something thats 7200RPM at least.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more! go with this GPU/PSU combo. GTX 460 1GB and a 850W 80+ Gold PSU.

Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, LED LCD TV, Digital Cameras and more! Case+ RAM and yes you need triple channel, like this, and not double channel.