Frustrated!

Status
Not open for further replies.

croSSeduP

In Runtime
Overclocking: I have searched the internet, and everything I have seen - with the exception of one article written in 2004 - assumes that people looking up how to overclock any given CPU has at least SOME knowledge of how to do it, and what all the terminology means. When it comes to this, I am a complete ignoramus! I need someone to explain it to me from the very basic things. I mean the VERY basic things. I just watched this because I just got the processor mentioned in this, my GPU set-up is similar, and I want to know how to overclock the CPU:
YouTube - AMD Phenom II 940 & 920 Review + Dragon (NCIX Tech Tips #21)
Not helpful at all. Somebody, please take a complete noob under their wing and walk me through this, or point me in the direction where I can get the info I need. Thanks!

TG

Assuming that you don't know anything about OC'ing, some definitions are in order:
Clock speed and Multiplier determine the speed of a piece of hardware. Think of data as water. To find the speed of the "water" in any given component, multiply the clock speed by the multiplier. Most OC'ing is done by changing the clock speed, but certain applications can change the multiplier as well (e.g. TurboV Evo). An "unlocked" processor (e.g. Intel's k series or AMD Black Edition CPUs) does not have any upper limit to its multiplier (most processors have a fixed multiplier that cannot be changed). Lag is created when too much "water" is being pumped into the components, building up pressure. Unlike water, data does not move faster when there is more of it, so pressure builds up inside the system.
Threads and Pipelines Using the water analogy, threads and pipelines are like the hoses that supply components with "water." More hoses and/or bigger hoses allow for more "water" and less pressure. The speed of a thread or pipeline is like the diameter of the hose.