Need help choosing parts for a custom computer

Status
Not open for further replies.

DashProject

Solid State Member
Having used budget computers all my life, I've been wanting to build a custom, relatively high end computer for myself within a set budget. I need this machine for my school as I am taking a 3D modeling class, and my laptop does not run the required programs properly. Perhaps more importantly I want all of the parts to be up-to-date, standard and with NO proprietary parts that are incompatible with everything else.

My budget is $2,000, preferably keeping it around $1,500 or lower but $2,000 is the max. I am a total newbie with no skill in building computers whatsoever, so after finding all of these parts on Newegg or some similar site, could you also recommend a good PC builder site for me to use?

Here are the parts I want suggestions/recommendations for:

• 2TB hard drive
  • BD-ROM drive with CD-R and DVD-R support
  • Enough RAM to play high-end games (not sure the exact gig amount)
  • A processor fast enough to play high-end games and apps without freezing
  • A high-end graphics card with support for modern games
  • A high-end sound card which supports soundfonts
  • Whatever motherboard is required to do all this
  • The proper power supply
  • A good PC case
  • Any other components I'm missing?

Peripherals include:

• An HD monitor (doesn't have to be super-huge) with very good picture quality
  • High-quality speakers with subwoofer
  • Please recommend a good quality keyboard and mouse

cpu - Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz
Newegg.com - Intel Core i5-750 Lynnfield 2.66GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1156 95W Quad-Core Processor BX80605I5750

mobo - ASUS P7P55D-E Pro
Newegg.com - ASUS P7P55D-E Pro LGA 1156 Intel P55 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard

ram - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3
Newegg.com - G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1333 (PC3 10666) Desktop Memory Model F3-10666CL9D-8GBRL