Overheating (As in 2 minutes) Drive Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

BugMonkey

Beta member
I know this is an older drive - a Maxtor MaxLine Plus II 250 GB running HIGH temperature - but I'm gonna try posting a question here about it anyway. I've recently acquired an HP Media Center PC m1270 n, Intel P4 530 on an ASUS Puffer w/ 1gb of RAM (ca. 2005). I started getting the BSOD followed by a boot up cycle that never completed, stuck in a cycle of attempted reboot. To try to regain some data and usage, I've been using SpinRite 6 to keep as much data from being corrupted as possible. I was also thinking about overclocking, so I installed SpeedFan to get an idea of temps. (I hadn't yet gotten to learn enough about SpeedFan and the tech it manages to change default settings in SpeedFan, however, so I never overclocked.) I don't remember it running crazy temps, but I'm pretty new to monitoring systems in this fashion so I never knew what was high when I was looking at them.

That's all to say that SpeedRite is telling me I'm running real hot on the drive and it climbs from around 38C to 55C in 10 minutes of it's diagnostic/repair work. However, the "touch test" doesn't seem to reveal anything just over room temperature. It's not real hot to the touch by any stretch of my index fingers ability to withstand. By the way, I've got the sides off the machine, drive slid part way out of case, and a window fan pointed at the HDD while I'm running it. One morning it got to 60C in less than 10 minutes after sitting cold all night. A HDD cooler might work but won't address a more significant issue; it is now reaching dangerous temps within 2 minutes of booting up and running SpinRite6. Ironically, it cools down almost as fast as it heats up.