Bang for (my) buck laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

Horis

Beta member
First off I'm a college student (IT) starting this term and I recently sold my HP laptop I had for about 4 years. I'm looking for a good laptop for around $1200 or less preferably that's lightish in weight, can handle MW2 and SC2 on decent settings, has good resolution, and is going to be fast enough for me not to go insane. Second I do have experience with computers to be a little more than basic. I can fix and build PCs and usually do so for elder family members. I do not however have advance knowledge like overclocking (although heard its easy) and DOS exp. I have been on newegg today looking for the best laptop for the money and have come down to a few options unless you guys/gals have better ones.

These are:
Newegg.com - TOSHIBA Qosmio X505-Q887 NoteBook Intel Core i7 740QM(1.73GHz) 18.4" 4GB Memory DDR3 1066 500GB HDD 7200rpm BD Combo NVIDIA GeForce GTS 360M
Newegg.com - ASUS G Series G51JX-X1 NoteBook Intel Core i7 720QM(1.60GHz) 15.6" 4GB Memory DDR3 1066 500GB HDD 7200rpm DVD Super Multi NVIDIA GeForce GTS 360MNewegg.com - MSI GX640-260US NoteBook Intel Core i5 450M(2.40GHz) 15.4" Wide SXGA+ 4GB Memory 500GB HDD 7200rpm DVD Super Multi ATI Mobility Radeon HD 5850

I'm not completely concerned with the i7 and think the i5 would be just fine, it's just for the same price give or take 100 I might as well get the quad core. There was also a Lenovo ideapad for 1100 I think with i7, 5650 graphics and 8gb of ram. What are your thoughts? I'm looking to purchase in the next 1-2 months. Thanks

-Chris

The ASUS looks pretty.

Anyway, the larger the screen, more the weight. The Toshiba 18" would be very heavy. Like going to a Lan party
The 17's are good, but the i5's are just a little under it. If the MSI is alright for you, I'd pick it.
The ASUS and Toshiba are well matched. I am unaware what the difference between the 720 and 740 is.