ramdude

Baseband Member
I wanted to spend around£ 1000 inc vat so - $ 1,545

i could add 6 gb more ram or a second graphics card or upgrade to the 960 -

so 12 gb of ram
a 960 instead of 930
or 2 grphics cards

whichever will get the most power / graphics capability -

Im a graphic designer and im moving into video editing .
Also would it be advisable to buy a pre selected machine cos Im not that knowledgeable on what works best

tell me your knowledge
Cheers

Is this for a computer you already own or are these upgrades for a pre-built computer your wanting to buy?

I don't see you gaining much going from 6GB to 12GB of ram in anything... I mean sure, if you are working on a HUGE HUGE image, but, I don't see the program taking 5+GB of ram....

butt - it can help with a virtuial machine - neh ?

maybeill run a few vurtual boxs with my extra spare 6 gb 3 each that ll do :grin:

any one sele s have a opinion im going on holiday on saturday say bye bye now

Running three virtual machines with 6GB of RAM?

What kind of programs are you running? :stare:

Do you truly understand how HUGE that is?

PS. Upgrade your hard drive to 1TB at the smallest. As well as an external for back-up incase your embedded gets FUBAR for some reason.

If you're spending $1,540 on a computer, actually get your moneys worth!!!

As far as Video Cards go,

Video RAM 640 MB Hardware T&L Yes Pixel Shader version 5.0 Vertex Shader version 5.0

If you can get a Video Card that can meet that, there is no way your digital imaging will go beyond that.

Unless you're getting SUPER HIGH UP Software (like Video Game design top of the line graphics type work)

Than

Video RAM 750 MB Hardware T&L Yes Pixel Shader version 8.0 Vertex Shader version 8.0

You get a Video Card with those specs or greater. Nothing int he computer industry for the next 5 years will be anything close to challenging for your system.

But either case, there is no way you'll be going above 6GB of RAM for anything.