Ebay seller offering custom builds...what do you think of this build? (no flames pls.

Status
Not open for further replies.

rising_suns

Baseband Member
Hello,
I am an owner of a small business, and am looking for a workhorse machine to run multi threaded processes all day. I know most people here probably build custom machines for gaming, but this machine I just need solely as a workhorse to continually run in the background with multiple processes. My main requirements are reliability, expandability (for future upgrades), and good stock speed (with perhaps a conservative OC).

I am new to custom builds, and do not exactly have the technical know-how to build a machine myself. But I did find a seller on ebay who is offering custom built machines (he has 100% feedback with over 14,000 sales--which I've never seen before--so people are apparently happy with him). This is the basic machine I am looking at;

INTEL I7 860 2.8GHZ QUAD DDR3 CUSTOM BAREBONES PC NEW - eBay (item 370423056618 end time Aug-31-10 15:40:37 PDT)

Components:
-Intel Core i7-870, or Intel Core i5-760
-Gigabyte P55M-UD2 P55 DDR3 m/b
-GeForce GT 210 512MB, PCI EXpress 16X dual head, HDMI
-Super Talent 4GB (2x2GB) PC10600 DDR3 1333 Dual Channel
-Coolermaster GeminII S Fan/HS
-Logisys 480W ATX Power Supply
-PowMax Black Mid Tower ATX Case w/ Front USB
(I have my own DVD + Hard Drives)

TOTAL PRICE: $642(i5) / $732(i7)

Your thoughts would be appreciated.

Re: Ebay seller offering custom builds...what do you think of this build? (no flames

You could order the parts and we could easily walk you through the process. Better than every going through any fleabay dealer.

Re: Ebay seller offering custom builds...what do you think of this build? (no flames

Hello, thank you for the replies.

If I build it myself, would you say that the components above would be a good start? My price range is in the $600 ballpark (I already have monitor, Win XP, HD, and optical drive....)