Need some expertise

Status
Not open for further replies.

TheSamGod

Beta member
Hello, I've never built a Pc before but I'm familiar with parts, this is the set-up I'm planning (mostly going to used for 3-d graphics and gaming). Would everything be running smoothly? Anything else I need to know?

Motherboard: EVGA P55 FTW SLI
Processor: Intel Core i7-875K
RAM: 4GB DDR3
Case: Cooler Master HAF 922
Power Supply Unit: Thermaltake 850W (Will this be enough to power the setup)
Cooling Unit: Asetek Liquid Cooling
Graphics Card: Nvidia GTX 480 (not sure what one) (maybe in SLi with current GT 8800)
Hard-drive: 1Tb (is there difference between makes or anything I should really know)

Budget around £1300 (converted into $ around 2000)

Thanks very much.

With a budget like that there is no reason why you should not have SSD. Get an i7-930 and an ATI Radeon HD5870 (or even better, 5970, that'll whoop any game or app out there), better PSU just in case. Get you items in combos, save some money. From newegg that is plenty enough money for what I have outlined above.

Just my two cents

No, I mean run OS on an SSD and data on HDD. There are any number of configurations of SSDs and HDDs, although I would suggest (based on reasoning and research, not experience) either:
1) running OS and programs from SSD and data off of HDD,
2) running a RAID configuration (I suggest an advanced one, not 0 or 1), or
3) running OS from SSD and data/programs from an advanced RAID configuration

that would give you capacity and speed all in one.

I've done some more searching and this is what I could get for my money:

Monitor - Acer GD245HQ - £275 (can buy another day, just including for possible feedback, I know Alienware also do a monitor for 3d)
Acer GD245HQ - DVI LCD display - TFT - 23.6" Monitor | Ebuyer.com

Motherboard: ASUS P6X58D Premium iX58 Socket 1366 Dual Gigabit - £244
(Recommended by Slaymate)
ASUS P6X58D Premium iX58 Socket 1366 Dual Gigabit LAN 8 Channel Audio ATX | Ebuyer.com