Superman...?

Status
Not open for further replies.

tonygomiello

Beta member
Greetings........I recently passed my CCNA exam. i need some advice on where to go from here. when i view job postings, they seem to ask for a TON of knowledge. Active Directory, Exchange, Firewalls, VPN, Windows Server 2003, etc. Is a network admin expected to know ALL of that stuff? i have never worked in a large enterprise, but i have some experience at a small help desk. i was under the impression that the IT department had its own departments.....for example, the Cisco guys, the Active Directory guys, etc.....but job postings seem to want one person to do it all!
I'm very confused as to where to go from here? CCNP? MCSE?
Maybe some of you can share your experiences and how things work at your company....
Who confIgures and troubleshoots the routers/switches at your job?
Who configures the firewalls/VPN's?
What does a typical CCNA/MCSE do at a company?
any replies are extremely appreciated......thanks!

At my job...
I do helpdesk support
I manage all the workstations in the company (hardware and software)
I manage/install the servers. Mail, Antivirus, FTP, Print, Proxy, Backup, etc etc etc.
I configure firewall changes
I troubleshoot router/switch issues
I troubleshoot the network in general (e.g. speed issues)
I upgrade/install new network cabling.
I manage several Database servers, SQL type stuff.
I manage/service/troubleshoot printers. This ranges from little desktop printers to 6ft long monster printers with 9,001 parts...oy vey...