Help with first build - gaming rig

Status
Not open for further replies.

Clayman

Beta member
Hey,

My old computer is broken and it's old enough that I don't see much point in trying to fix it, so time for a new one. I'm a bit of a noob at this. It's been a long time since I payed any attention to hardware and this will be the first time that I'm putting it together myself.

It will primarily be a gaming PC. I guess the goal is to run all modern games at max/near max settings and hopefully to future proof it a bit. I don't plan on overclocking. I don't plan on making any major upgrades in the near future. There's not really any set budget, but I'd prefer that it doesn't go all that much higher than what it's at now. I'm not actually buying it off of Newegg, but I linked the Newegg pages so there would be no confusion about what part I'm talking about.

Here's what I have so far:

CPU - AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor

I was thinking of going with the Phenom II X6 1090T, but it seems sort of pointless seeing as there's no games that utilize six cores. If there's some other reason that a six core is a better choice, I'll be willing to reconsider.

GPU - XFX HD-587X-ZNFV Radeon HD 5870 (Cypress XT) 1GB 256-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card

The one component that I'm not being cheap on. I was planning on a 5850 at first, but now I'm thinking I'll go with the 5870 since it's within my budget. How much of a difference is there between the two? Do you think the difference justifies the price?

Motherboard - GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 AM3 AMD 870 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard