I'm not sure what is causing the problem

Status
Not open for further replies.

ToddJaro

Beta member
Hello,

My name is Todd and I'm new; I am an amateur computer builder at best. I have built mid-performance desktops for myself and for close friends. I built a PC for my friend around 4 years ago and it is giving him problems. I am trying to diagnose it and cannot figure out what is wrong with the **** thing.

The computer powers on and will start up fine. When the Windows Vista loading bar is just about to finish and load to the user name screen, I get the blue screen of death and the computer reboots. It will do this over and over and over again.

I tried to repair - the PC worked for around 30 minutes and had the blue screen of death. I am now trying to reformat (fresh install) and after I fill in the authentication code for Vista, I receive either an error message or it simply says on the installation window "Windows Vista setup encountered an error. Please restart the program and try again."

I'm pretty sure I've narrowed the problem down to either faulty ram or a faulty hard drive. Which is it?

Thanks.

Specs:
500w Antec power supply
Asus M2N - E SLI motherboard
EVGA 8600 GTS graphics card
AMD Athlon 64 X2 @ 2.4 GHz
2 x 1G Corsair Value Select RAM
320 GB Western Digital hard drive @ 7200 RPM SATA 2
Sony CD/DVD burner SATA 2

My best guess would be a broken hard drive. To make sure, you can try using chkdsk from the installation disk (see method 2, step 2 on http://www.vistax64.com/tutorials/67612-check-disk-chkdsk.html). To test the RAM, you can use memtest, which should also be on the installation disk.

If you don't have those options, you can create an Ubuntu Linux live-cd (see http://www.ubuntu.com/desktop/get-ubuntu/download) and then run the Disk Utility and memtest provided on the disk.

Please tell me if you need more help.

Welcome to TF, Todd!

To verify it is not the RAM, run Memtest86+ Let it do a few passes, any errors, and you know what is bad.