Are there any FULL time sub-contractors out there?

Status
Not open for further replies.

shortstop20

I've always thought my dream job would be to travel around and do tech contract jobs for outsourcing companies, such as the ones you see on Craigslist and such. I think it would be great if it was possible to turn this into something full time.

Is this even feasible, do people actually do this as a full time job or is it too hard to find that much work?

I don't mind driving at all, I can drive 10 hours non-stop like nothing and I am used to being away from home alot. Odd working hours, weekends and holidays don't bother me either.

Are there any other websites besides Craigslist that I should look into for jobs like this? I've done a few contract jobs that I've found through Craigslist, but only like 3 over the course of 4 years.

Any input is appreciated.

I'm not a coder so I'm not even interested in that.

I'm talking more along the lines of network/desktop upgrades/installation, Cat 5e wiring, networking, servers, etc.

Its a very tough industry to crack. First, you are completing against the bottom feeders that are on craigslist, second you will be new competing against companies/people that are well established and connected, and honestly the rates are going down.