General overclocking question

Status
Not open for further replies.

BradS

Baseband Member
Hey, I was just thinking about something after I talked with a friend about overclocking. He was saying some things that I was confused about and I decided to ask you guys about this. First of all, he said that overclocking RAM is pointless because processors can't utilize more than 1033 or something. Also, he said that it's pointless to overclock a processor to say, 4 Ghz.

I guess his arguement is about performance rather than things like benchmarks, but my eral question is: Is there really a big increase in performance if you were to overclock a cpu to 4 ghz from say 2.8 or maybe overclock ram from lower settings to like 1600 to 2000?

I'm asking this because I am fairly new to the high performance computer world. I recently purchased all brand new parts for a new computer build (my first true computer build). Here's my build for those who are interested:

P6X58D Premium mobo
XFX 5850 Video Card
Core i7 930 @ stock (2.8 Ghz) cooled by a Zalman 9900ALED
G.Skill Ripjaws 3 x 2GB @ 1600 (801 Mhz)
Corsair HX750 Power Supply
Antec Twelve Hundred Full Tower Case

I'm just curious about this and I may want to eventually overclock my processor when I gain more knowledge and courage to do it (really my first big shell out of cash for a computer: $~1300)...