CPU cooler for i7 930 in Antec 900

Status
Not open for further replies.

CalcProgrammer1

Fully Optimized
I've been using my build for almost 2 months now with the stock cooler but soon I'll have the money to get an aftermarket cooler. I really do need one as my chip has been running around 70C pretty much nonstop for that time as I've been running Folding@Home SMP on it.

I want an air cooler or self-contained unit, don't have the money for a water cooling setup nor do I need to water cool my GPU. The biggest issue is size, my case is an Antec Nine Hundred and I have a side mounted fan that I don't want to remove, so I need something that will not interfere with it.

I have never bought an aftermarket cooler before so I'm a complete noob on the subject. I know some coolers can be very large and heavy, I plan to take this computer back and forth from home to college a lot and don't want something too fragile or stressful on the motherboard if this is an issue. Last, I want something that uses bolts or screws or some other solid mount as opposed to the cheap clip system that the stock cooler has.

What are your recommendations? I would like to be able to exceed 4GHz on this cooler. Right now I'm at 3.1, if I go to 3.2 it gets up around 75C and I don't like running that hot.

I would just get the corsair h50. It is water, but a completely closed loop. It is lighter than most air coolers , and really really easy to work with. It has a back retention plate and sits on as solid as you could want. Beauty of the h50 is you get to do the cooling where it is best for you, rather than directly over the cpu as you would with an air cooler.

I've really been considering the H50 but have heard mixed reviews. I'll probably end up getting one but I don't know if it's good for a fan-heavy case like the Nine Hundred. With the large top exhaust fan, would it be better to have the airflow into the case or out of it?