My first computer. LF suggestions, help, verify compatibility.

Status
Not open for further replies.

carson1931

Baseband Member
Hello,

I'm looking to put together my first computer, to play games like Diablo 3, WoW, and Final Fantasy 14 when it comes out. I currently only have a laptop, and after running the FF14 benchmark, I came out with roughly 1/3 of the score needed to play the game at the lowest settings. This realization prompted me to start looking at a new computer. I'm an intern at dell over the summer, so I considered using my 17% discount to buy a dell desktop computer, as a starting point to upgrade from. Later however my friend convinced me that building it myself would still be much cheaper. I'm following that path now, but if anybody thinks the original idea would work out better please let me know.

So now for the components I've selected! Being my first computer I feel like I'm still not 100% sure if all these parts are compatible, and I would also like to know if my particular combination has any known issues. I'm working with a budget around 1500$, and would prefer to come in under. I took somewhat of a minimalist approach, trying to put off some costs until later. I really want the option to upgrade to 8 gigs of ram, and crossfire my graphics card once FF14 comes out, and I have some money again.

Case: Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER HAF 932 RC-932-KKN1-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
Motherboard: Newegg.com - MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
Graphics: Newegg.com - XFX HD-577X-ZNFC Radeon HD 5770 1GB 128-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card
Power Supply: Newegg.com - KINGWIN ABT-730MM 730W ATX 12V Ver.2.91 SLI Ready CrossFire Ready Active PFC Power Supply
Processor: Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X6 1090T Black Edition Thuban 3.2GHz 6 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Six-Core Desktop Processor HDT90ZFBGRBOX