BUILDING MY FIRST GAMING PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

NPRamirez

Solid State Member
HI! I'm new to Tech-Forums and new to anything "Tech" related. I've had a mediocre PC that runs games like WoW at medium performance and even that might be a stretch. The point is, it is completely outdated. A Pentium 4, virus infected, crusty old pile of crap.

First, let me explain what I already have. Mouse, monitor, keyboard and headset are a check.

...Next, let me explain what I want and my budget.

My New-PC Requirements:
--Run any game on the market without a hiccup
--Play Blu-Ray movies
--Burn and store many movies
--General document work like word, excel

My Budget:
$1200-1500 US Dollars

So, is this realistic?

NOW I'd like to post what I've chosen and I have a few questions regarding these parts and the computer as a whole.

--CASE--
Newegg.com - COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Blue RC-932-KKN3-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
COOLER MASTER HAF 932 Blue RC-932-KKN3-GP Black Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case
$160

--MOTHERBOARD--
Newegg.com - MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
MSI 890FXA-GD70 AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard
$190

--CPU/PROCESSOR--
Newegg.com - Intel Core i7-930 Bloomfield 2.8GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Model BX80601930
Intel Core i7-930 Bloomfield 2.8GHz 4 x 256KB L2 Cache 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Desktop Processor Model BX80601930
$290

--MEMORY--
Newegg.com - CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TR3X6G1600C8D
CORSAIR DOMINATOR 6GB (3 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Triple Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model TR3X6G1600C8D
230$

--HARD DRIVE--
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD1002FAEX 1TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA 6.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive