Newbie with a power problem...

Status
Not open for further replies.

D.J.Tone-Def

Beta member
:) Hi,I'm a newbie here.I'm principally a drum and bass music artist/producer,in my spare time,and I also build/cobble together starter internet ready systems,for friends family,(all self taught.)
I have an odd problem with a Compaq Deskpro XL 590 P1 system I'm playing with-It will not switch off!
The only way to power the unit down is to unplug the damn thing.Tried using the Compaq configuration utility to see what power options there were-no luck.Power supply will not operate if removed from the computer and power lead plugged in-but as soon as leads are plugged back into mobo,it comes to life.
Looked closely at the board for any jumpers or something that might be out of place but no. I'm unsure as to the early history of the unit and whether it may have been used as a server?:confused: And perhaps they made some adjustments?
I'd really apreciate any suggestions you peeps could give.
Thanks!:D

if it won't shut off thru the normal shut down procedure (start button>shutdown) then its a software problem more than likely. the reason the power supply won't turn on when removed from the mobo because the mobo is actually the switch for it and windows shut down process is the one that flips the switch.

Have you tried shutting it down via holding the power button for 5 seconds? Like jak said, what happens when you just go to start> shut down , absolutely nothing, it just sits there or what? Perhaps it is a software issue or perhaps there's a setting in the BIOS. I know there's settings for keyboard wake ups, wake on LAN, and you can change what the power button does when hit so that's one option too

Hi,thanks for your replies.
My problem is not a software one;this problem existed even before I installed the O.S.
I can shut down from windows to the "it is now safe..." screen,however the power switch-a rocker type old fashioned thing,does not turn the power off.