Mobo or no?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Rerok

Beta member
During a recent thunderstorm, the computer at my church was hit with a power surge, even though it was plugged into a surge protector. Now, when you push the power button, nothing happens, no lights, beeps, fans, nothing.

Dell Dimension 3000
Windows XP sp2
P4
512MB DDR400
Intel 865gv mobo...
in other words, a factory Dell

I thought it might be the psu, so i took the one from my rig at home and tried it, with the same results. I know the mobo is getting power, because there is a green light on it that comes on every time you plug it in.

With me being a self taught noob, my gut is the mobo was taken out from the surge, because it also killed the modem and router. But, since I am still a noob, I figured I would ask you guys just to be sure. Should I go ahead and tell them they need to spring for a new mobo, or is there something I might be overlooking? Any help is greatly appreciated.

Try resetting BIOS. Could have shocked the battery too. Don't ever suggest the motherboard until you tried everything else.

Try resetting everything on your board. Might be a memory problem as well.

I agree, sounds like the mobo might be gone.
Before you tell them though, take the pc apart and test as many components as you can in your rig. The mobo might not be the only thing that was fried.

I also agree, normally however, when a surge gets through it is absorbed by the PSU, but since you say it is not that, I would check the mobo battery.

Another thing, you should check just because it is so easy. Try to bypass the button. Short out the two prongs where the power button cables run into the motherboard (Should be like two pin connector).

Also, an easy way to see if it is the motherboard (and could possibly be repaired if you are proficient in soldering). Visually inspect the motherboard for bloated capacitors (strong candidate for what went wrong). Here is a link to a picture than shows a bloated capacitor.