Noob Build...Help?

Status
Not open for further replies.
when you first install your ram it will default to 1333mhz. if the ram you bought is rated to run at 1600mhz, you'll have to do some adjustments in the bios to get it running at it's rated speeds.

someone else picked those same parts on another thread, so heres my response regarding the ram and gfx card.

the psu is a good choice though, stick with that.

if you can afford it, an ssd would be a good addition to your build but only as a primary drive for your OS/programs. if you get one, you should also get a separate hdd for data storage.

this would be a good choice.
Newegg.com - OCZ Agility Series OCZSSD2-1AGT60G 2.5" 60GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)

Thanks for the reply MuffinMan. I agree with you about the video card, thanks for pointing that out. However, I am very hesitant about the ram. It is vertigo some REAL nasty reviews! I have never built a computer before and would rather not have to OC the ram to get it to work right on my first build. A lot of people were RMA'ing and saying to stay away.

Also, the reviews for the SSD still state they are not worth the price. I may just pick up a standard HDD for now and maybe upgrade when they become more readily available for a better price. Unless I can justify the extra expense.

that sounds like a good idea, and im proud of you for reading any and all reviews you can find. also, a good source for reviews is youtube. ive never not found a review/unboxing for a computer component im interested in on youtube. kinda surprises me everytime.

that sounds like a good idea, and im proud of you for reading any and all reviews you can find. also, a good source for reviews is youtube. ive never not found a review/unboxing for a computer component im interested in on youtube. kinda surprises me everytime.