i7 processor in laptop question

Status
Not open for further replies.

atoncl

Beta member
I'm finally looking to upgrade my laptop.

I guess my major question is the majority of the new laptops with i7 processors are the 720 series which has a clock of 1.6Ghz but it says can be run at up to 2.8 GHZ. does this mean it will run at 1.6 unless I overclock it in the BIOS or it will automatically up its speed if needed?

I'm looking at this ASUS G51JX

Newegg.com - ASUS G Series G51JX-X1 NoteBook Intel Core i7 720QM(1.60GHz) 15.6" 4GB Memory DDR3 1066 500GB HDD 7200rpm DVD Super Multi NVIDIA GeForce GTS 360M

I'm not a huge gamer but would like to run modern Warfare 2 and stuff of that level on it(currently the most intense game my comp can run is star wars battlefront 2)

I am a computer engineering student and use a lot of intensive software as well.

I'm fairly set on this asus, unless anyone can recommend anything else. there was a solid HP too.
Newegg.com - HP Pavilion dv6-2190us NoteBook Intel Core i7 720QM(1.60GHz) 15.6" 4GB Memory 500GB HDD 7200rpm DVD Super Multi NVIDIA GeForce GT 230M

but the asus has the better graphics card.

Thoughts anybody?

Welcome to TF!

I wouldn't go with HP. ASUS is my #1.

I belive the CPU needs to be overclocked to be faster. Some manufacturers shut that option off in BIOS, to save you from breaking the board. I would just leave it as is. That isn't a huge jump.

I said I believe, I wasn't sure. I just slightly knew that technology.

ASUS is better in my opinion. Both are solid systems, though.

So essentially, I can assume that that i7 is a 2.8 Ghz clock that hangs out at 1.6 to save power?

That's actually pretty cool, and yea I think the ASUS is the winner, my only problem with them is low bat life, size and heat... but I guess I'm looking at power house computer so that is what I have to deal with.