College Laptop Hunt

Status
Not open for further replies.

AlbumGin

Beta member
I'm having a heck of a time with my laptop hunt as I get ready to go to school, so I'd like the opinions of some other people. Here are my guidelines:

Kind:
-Only restriction with that is that I don't want a Mac. Don't debate on why - I just hate Macs. I also am trying to stray away from the custom laptops like Alienware. I'd rather just have a name brand like Dell/Sony/Hp and a type.

Price Range:
-Total buy should be around the $1500 range, but I'm willing to pay a bit more. We'll set the max at $2000.

Accessories:
-I'm an AP student right now and I'm going into Chemistry and Neuroscience with a Premed focus. That being said I'd like to geek up the classroom. I want to get an audio/video recorder accessory to go with my laptop to record the professor, and maybe even one of the digital notepads so I don't need to screw around with paper. I've not seen them for PCs but I've seen them for Macs (go figure (I'm still not getting a Mac)).
-The TV I'm bringing to school can double up as a monitor. It's one of those small plasma LCDs. What's the cable that lets you hook them up?
-A good wireless keyboard and mouse would be ideal to go along with the TV/monitor.
-I also wouldn't mind more than 2 USB ports...I have an external hard drive and would have the wireless mouse/keyboard already.

Hobbies:
-I religiously play World of Warcraft. If you're not familiar with the game, there are parts where you will be playing with 24 other people spamming 5 buttons every second. So I need decent graphics/processing speed, but not enough to make the price range ridiculous. The game isn't terribly CPU-eating, but I'd still need a decent laptop to play it without lag and frustration. I also don't want to have to play it on the lowest resolutions.