Water cooling Loop Question

Status
Not open for further replies.

Guttzu

In Runtime
So I got all my parts in for my water cooling loop but I was wondering if I would be ok with running this EK Waterblocks EK-FB EVGA X58 LE - Nickel Acetal along with the cpu block (HEATKILLER® CPU Rev3.0 1366 - Limited Edition Nickel/Chrome Plated Waterblock) off of one of these HW Labs Black Ice SR1 360 Carbon Black - Triple 120mm

Pump is a : Swiftech MCP355 12v DC Pump

Reservoir: XSPC Acrylic Dual 5.25in. Reservoir for Two Laing DDC's

Fans for the Rad are S-Flex SFF21F Case Fans
Please give suggestions.

Thanks for the suggestion Slay... so should I be ok with cooling the CPU and the chipset with the single radiator? I mean run the pump to the CPU first and then the chipset would make the most sense right?

I think you'll be OK with a single rad, but I'm no expert on watercooling.

I wouldn't go straight from the pump to the cpu. The pump generates a small amount of heat. I would go from the pump to the radiator with the pump pulling the water thru the cpu block.

The heat dump from pumps is insignificant when looking at CPU temps. There is MAYBE a .5C difference between going pump -> cpu and rad -> cpu. Just do whatever looks cleanest.

While the SR-1 is a nice rad it's way overpriced... you can get the swiftech MCR320 for half the price and lose hardly nothing performance wise.

I'd say a single rad with all that is pushing it, depending on how good you want your temps to be. On an overclocked i7 I'd estimate a 10C water - air delta