PSU for GTX 480

Status
Not open for further replies.
People seem to think the 5870 is basically the same as the gtx 480 when this is not the case at all. The gtx 480 is significantly better, actually i couldn't have asked for a much bigger increase over the 5870 from the release. Yes power is definitely it's major drawback, temperatures don't really bother me as much as people say because it is designed to run at just under 100C absolute load, cutting off at 105. The selling point for me was that the minimum framerate and AA performance the gtx480 provides, this is where the gtx 480 is about 15-20% better in most cases.

Guys, if he wants to get a GTX 480 then that's his choice. He asked us to recommend a good power supply for use with a GTX 480.

I'm not an expert in PSU's but I would recommend anything above 650W by corsair.

This is the PSU I have and I love it: Newegg.com - SILVERSTONE ST70F 700W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Modular Active PFC Power Supply

700W, 80+ certified, modular, quiet, and made by Sea Sonic. It'll handle one GTX 480 but you'll probably need another if you ever plan on using SLI.

I just bought Corsair 750w power supply from Newegg last month. I got two 5870s and got physX card coming in. Now I think that i need like a 1000w. wanna buy mine for $85 + shipping?

The 650w that 35g700 mentioned would actually work fine, it would allow more than enough power. That's a really good unit. Get the modular model if you want. The gtx 480 is a very good performer with FPS, and from what I have seen the people that have them are more than happy with them. The heat and power draw is up for you to decide on if it's a big deal. The more real world reviews (from actual consumers) that are taking place with them, the less of an issue the heat/power seems to be. 5870 and the 480 are both awesome cards that trade blows with different features. Choose what you want homie..