Water Cooling help plz!

Status
Not open for further replies.

S0ULphIRE

Golden Master
I need some advice on the best parts to get, I'm a total noob when it comes to water cooling :p

I'd like to cool the mosfets, a 1366 socket cpu, northbridge and two 480 GTX's. It doesn't all have to be internal, I've got plenty of space on my bench for pumps/radiators. I'm not fussed with colours, special dyes, etc. I'm after max performance.

Thanks!

edit: also, wtf are 'barbs'? joiners?

I was in the same boat as you a few months back before i decided to make a water loop for my next rig. Well in the end i couldn't afford it but know i know a whole lot more than i did incase i want to build one in the future, which i so :)

Obviously you understand you'll need two blocks for the gtx 480's. Full blocks are good but not necessary, i have been told a good gpu block paired with some decent zalman ram sinks is the best bet.

The two best CPU blocks currently are the EK surpreme and the swiftech XT. The Xt being slightly better in most cases but does limit flow slightly more.

The pump you want to get is the laing ddc pump. There are a number of revisions and makes as they are kinda like graphics cards. The most common is the swiftech mcp-355 which is currently made in the second revision of the pump (there are three; the first was 3 then 3.2 and now 3.25) each one offers slightly more head pressure then its predecessor. Dangerden and koolance also make the newest revision. Since your in Australia too, www.gammods.com.au is the best place to get most parts, pc case gear are good for blocks i've found. Gam stocks the actual laing ddc3.25 itself so its great to get from there. You might be thinking what about the laing d5? well after extensive research it seems it only provides a better flow but does not carry as much head pressure so the ddc paired with a aftermarket top is the best choice.