Help with building a gaming computer

Status
Not open for further replies.
Going with AMD over Intel because your worried about it being outdated is a load of crap. AMD switches sockets just as often as Intel. Going with an AMD over the Intel will only give you a less powerful PC.

Ok guys im really new at this stuff. Should I go with intel or amd. And please don't say its your preference because I don't have one.
Also I though $1500 was pretty reasonable if its not can you guys give me a rough estimate on what will give me a really good system?
Finally how much ram should I be getting 4GB, 6GB, or 8GB and what is the difference between DDR2 &DDR3.

Right now Intel has the performance trophy. If I were you I would buy the i7 920, best performance you can get! The AMD 965 has similar performance than i5 750 from Intel which is the 3rd fastest cpu from Intel (which is worth buying), so you can see how much AMD is behind when considering performance. AMD has te best performance/price ratio but if you're looking for performance Intel is the way to go!

If you choose Intel you should get 6GB to take advantage of triple channel. If you choose AMD you should get 4GB and upgrade to 8GB if you need to.

Right now Intel has the performance trophy. If I were you I would buy the i7 920, best performance you can get! The AMD 965 has similar performance than i5 750 from Intel which is the 3rd fastest cpu from Intel (which is worth buying), so you can see how much AMD is behind when considering performance. AMD has te best performance/price ratio but if you're looking for performance Intel is the way to go!

If you choose Intel you should get 6GB to take advantage of triple channel. If you choose AMD you should get 4GB and upgrade to 8GB if you need to.

So if I go with teh Intel i7 920 is there a differece between it and the Intel i7 920 X58PROE-BNDL other than the extra $200 dollars i would have to pay.

Is the 920 the best i7 I can get? (Is 2.66 GHz good?)