1000$ Gaming PC?

Status
Not open for further replies.

jmido8

Beta member
Hey guys, I came here to get some help building a new pc. It's my first time ever doing anything like this so i'm not sure whether I'v picked the best parts for the money, or even compatible parts for that matter. My budget is in the ballpark of 900-1000$.

I have windows 7, a keyboard, and a mouse, so I need everything else including a monitor.

Here's the current build I made on newegg.

Edit: Nvm, that setup doesn't work because I forgot RAM and a CD/DVD drive.

jcomp1.jpg

Can you critique and/or give me a better build to use. Thanks!

I'm not sure why the wishlist isn't showing, I set it for public. https://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.aspx?ID=12700965

But what's the difference in performance between a 5850 and 5830? The 5850 is a good 50$ more expensive and I'v been leaning towards that just because it's a higher end card, but is the difference even noticable? For example, would it make the difference between me running a game in very high and high?

yeah i5 is a bit over of his budget but if he could top another few bucks on his budget then it will fit somehow and it will be a best bang for his bucks. another idea in my could stay on AMD build and just save some more money and go for 5870.

i dont know how good is gigabyte about their service/warranty but this is a good gpu although you need 90$ more for it hehe.
Newegg.com - GIGABYTE GV-R587UD-1GD Radeon HD 5870 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

I'm not sure why the wishlist isn't showing, I set it for public. https://secure.newegg.com/WishList/MySavedWishDetail.aspx?ID=12700965