Building a Gaming PC

Status
Not open for further replies.

Twixey

Beta member
Hey guys this is my first time building a gaming PC so i just wanted some help as to make sure that all the parts are compatible and if its a decent gaming rig.
These are the parts i have:
Auzentech GMC R-4 Bulldozer Case
EVGA P55 LE Motherboard - Intel P55, Socket LGA1156 PhysX + Crossfire
Corsair Dominator GT RAM - Airflow Fan, 4GB, DDR3, PC16000, 2000MHz
Power Up / 550-Watt / ATX / 120mm Fan / SATA-Ready / Power Supply
Intel Core i7 930 Processor BX80601930 - 2.80GHz, 8MB L3 Cache, 4.8GT/s QPI or
Intel Core i7 860 Processor BX80605I7860 - 2.80GHz, LGA 1156, 8MB L3 Cache I dont know which to get
Turtle Beach Riviera 5.1 Digital PCI Sound Card
Western Digital WD10EARS Caviar Green Hard Drive - 3.5", SATA 3G, 1TB, 64MB Cache
EVGA 01G-P3-N958-LR GeForce 9500 GT Video Card - 1GB DDR2, PCI Express 2.0, SLI Support, DVI, HDTV, VGA

P.S. ill of course be slowly upgrading this as i get more money for im pretty broke atm :p
and i know that the sound and HD isnt good but i dont know what to get, so if you can give advice please do :)

hi, welcome to Tech-Forums :)

if you were go to with the i7 860, then it looks like everything would be compatible. not with the i7 930 though, it uses a different socket so it wouldn't work.

but, as it is right now with a 9500gt, it's not really a good gaming rig, unless you just play old games.

also, you could try the onboard sound on the mobo first, as see how that works for you. if it really isn't what you're looking for, you could always add a sound card later on.

tell us your budget and where you're located (US, UK?) and we can help you rework your build for a better gaming rig.

Ok thanks im in the US and my budget is somewhere around $1000-1300, so what graphics card would you recommend?

well, with a bit of reworking to your build, you would get a much more powerful HD 5850.