Some ATI Crossfire AMD System Overclock Suggestions.

Status
Not open for further replies.
It's generally better to have one GPU that's more powerful than two less powerful GPU's in crossfire.
Two 5770's combined have 1600 shaders in crossfire, but isn't as fast as one 5870 which has 1600 shaders by itself.
Thanks for all your help, still new to the PC building gig so Im still learning all this jazz. My understanding is the higher shader count is what makes the framerate better. To think I was always told it was better to do dual cards of a lower series for money saving............ So if i took out one of my 5770's and threw in a 5870 then that would do the trick? However in the meantime i would still like some nice suggestions as far as OCing goes until i get my hands on one.

Thanks for all your help, still new to the PC building gig so Im still learning all this jazz. My understanding is the higher shader count is what makes the framerate better.
If you have two cards in crossfire, it's not going to scale to exactly 200% of single card performance. It might be 150%, or 180% depending on the game.
To think I was always told it was better to do dual cards of a lower series for money saving............
In this case, two 5770's will cost less than one 5870.
Though at the same time, they won't get as much performance, because crossfire scaling is less than 100% efficient.
So two 5770's will probably get about the same price:performance as one 5870.
But it might be a hassle to get crossfire running.
So if i took out one of my 5770's and threw in a 5870 then that would do the trick?
If you already have two 5770's there isn't any point going to a 5870. Unless you want to get two 5870's and crossfire them.
However in the meantime i would still like some nice suggestions as far as OCing goes until i get my hands on one.
Have you got aftermarket cooling? Phenom II's overclock better the colder they get.