need advice for gaming pc

Status
Not open for further replies.

alienufo

Baseband Member
hey guys, I'm gonna be building a gaming PC in about 2 weeks, and I need some suggestions for parts. I've never built my own PC from scratch before, but I have installed various components into my current one including video cards, ram, and hard drives.

Anyway, Im looking to spend about $1000. I do need a copy of windows 7, but I already have a monitor, mouse, and keyboard that I'm gonna use, so don't include any of those things. keep in mind I'm probably gonna want to upgrade stuff on it a few years down the road also.

thanks in advance.

At that price point, you should be looking at a phenom II in an AM2+ board with DDR2 1066. Ati's 5750 and 5770 are nice cards for under $150, so you might want to go with just one of those and a good 500-600W PSU and avoid dual card stuff in your build. It's hard to get an i5 build under $1000, especially if you need to buy windows 7.

Here's a solid base to start with,

Motherboard: Newegg.com - ASUS M4A79XTD EVO AM3 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards

CPU: Newegg.com - AMD Phenom II X4 955 Black Edition Deneb 3.2GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor - Processors - Desktops

RAM: Newegg.com - G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-4GBNQ - Desktop Memory

GFX Card: Newegg.com - XFX HD-577A-ZNFC Radeon HD 5770 (Juniper XT) 1GB 128-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card - Desktop Graphics / Video Cards

HDD: Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD6401AALS 640GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive

PSU: Newegg.com - CORSAIR CMPSU-650TX 650W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready CrossFire Ready 80 PLUS Certified Active PFC Compatible with Core i7 Power Supply - Power Supplies