PC for the Kiddies

Status
Not open for further replies.

dcusick

Solid State Member
Hey All.. Been lurking for a while, and soaking up a lot of information.. I'm an old-school builder.. Last PC I built was a monster back in 1997 or so. So, needless to say, I'm a little out of date on products, but definitely up to speed on knowledge... I was looking to head up to MicroCenter this weekend, since they advertise better prices than Newegg, and from my research, this has proven true. Anyway, I am building this machine for my kids (3 1/2 and 2). I obviously do not need anything top of the line right now, but am looking to get something that will last a while, and will be upgradeable in the future. Please let me know what you think of this build. The only thing I'm a little unsure of is the memory.. They have a few brands there, not even sure what is good anymore...

Case -- $49.99 -- Antec VSK-2000 ATX Mid-Tower Case - Black
Processor -- $99.99 -- AMD Athlon II X4 630 Quad-Core Processor
Mobo -- $54.99 -- M4A785-M Socket AM3 785G mATX Motherboard
Memory -- $72.99 -- OCZ Technologies Titanium XTC 4GB PC-6400 DDR2 Memory Kit
HD -- $49.99 -- Western Digital OEM Blue WD5000AAKS 500GB 7200rpm SATA 3.0Gb/s HD OEM
DVD -- $29.99 -- Samsung OEM Dual/Double Layer 22x DVD+/-RW Burner OEM
Windows 7 -- $109.99 -- Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit OEM

Total CPU Cost comes out to $467.93.

Will end up picking up a random Wireless card and speakers, to end up bringing this machine somewhere in the $520 range...

I plan on using the onboard Video and Sound for now, since they should be MORE than sufficient for Leap Frog Math! But I can always upgrade that later on. I am looking to Run this pretty cheap for now, but again, allow for upgradability. Any thoughts? From everything I can see, that Mobo/Processor are pretty nice. I am thinking what I might have an issue with is the RAM, as I have no clue if OCZ is a reputable brand.