Water Cooling Newbie

Status
Not open for further replies.

blasterfreak88

Baseband Member
I just wanted to have a couple opinions on my liquid cooling setup and how effective you feel that it is. Here is what I have
CPU AMD Phenom II X3 720 BE
Aquagate Mini (pump and block and tank are all mounted right on the board)
I used new tubing custom fit to my case and have a thermaltake 120mm radiator cooling the liquid. Currently I have my CPU overclocked from 2.8GHz to 3.2GHz and with this setup I am seeing an idle temp of about 20C and after about an hour of prime 95 I am seeing temps that are stable at 42C. Are these safe temps to run at and with liquid cooling should I see lower temps than this? I am really new to liquid cooling. I got this Aquagate mini from a friend for 20 and thought I might as well try it out. ( I am a mechanical engineering student so experimenting with mechanical systems is what I love to do.) Is there anything you would recommend to me as it is my first water cooling that a newbie might forget about?
Thanks for the help or advise.

Meh seems like a waste TBH.

I've got my 940 at 3.6ghz (mostly stable, I don't do anything important really so not being %100 stable is fine with me, 3.5 is solid though) with a core contact. I idle 27c load 43c with my kaze on low, on high I'll idle ~24 and load 39-40, but it sounds like a jet sooo.

Nothing you can really do for more cooling. That aquagate mini is pretty much stuck the way it is. Your temps are fine though, only have to worry if your in the 50-60 range. Those mini water coolers aren't worth it compared to a solid heatsink, core contact, TRUE, megahalems, all of which are around the same price as closed loop water. You really have to go all out and make your own, which can end up being expensive and potentially harmful to your pc if you aren't careful.

Meh seems like a waste TBH.