HD 3200 igp?

Status
Not open for further replies.

fattty

Baseband Member
Im pretty new so this might be in the wrong section. (hint hint mods)
But anyway, i was looking around at some budget laptops and pcs and fround some with a Hd 3200 graphics card. Is there any difference between the pc and laptop version? I found it on the laptop gpu list but not the desktop one. For an integrated graphics card, it is pretty good IMO. I have heard crysis will run on the card. (search Crysis on hd 3200 on youtube) which is amazing!
Just wanted to know if i am wasting my money buying an un-upgradable system with this card.:lol:

sorry, i am a newb, noob, nub! :p:p:p

You may get Crysis to run in 800x600 or 1024x768 with very low details, no AA/AF, and low framerates Also, the HD3200 people use for gaming demonstations is almost always overclocked about as far as it will go. You may need extra cooling, and on a laptop that's difficult.

I would go for an HD4200 if I were you. It's faster, has better features, and it's also integrated.

Laptop gfx cards are different than desktops. They are lower powered to save battery life.

The said 3200 is a low-class card. It may be able to plat Crysis, idk, but not at amazingly high settings.

If it is onboard, it will steal your RAM.

Laptop gfx cards are different than desktops. They are lower powered to save battery life.

The said 3200 is a low-class card. It may be able to plat Crysis, idk, but not at amazingly high settings.

If it is onboard, it will steal your RAM.

Actually a lot of the HD3200 and HD4200 IGPs come with 128 or 256mb sideport memory, and they won't use your system ram. Additionally, they are the most powerful IGPs in existance, unless Nvidia released something while I wasn't looking.

You can get an HD3200 (500mhz stock) to around 1000mhz with no issues as long as it's kept cool.