Building a Gaming Rig For the First Time!

Status
Not open for further replies.

wirehead10

Solid State Member
Hello All,

I've recently went to Alienware and priced a couple of gaming computers, but they are all pretty heavily priced. So I got the bright idea of trying to go through with building my own gaming rig. I have done simple things with computers such as replace a graphics card or troubleshoot a problem with one, but never have I built one from scratch.

The first thing I am looking at purchasing is a CPU, I've had my eye on the Intel Core 2 Quad Q9400 Processor, but I want to make sure I get the most bang for my buck and don't underestimate what I'm actually looking for.

I want a processor that will last (and handle games, workload, etc.) for the next 4 or 5 years. I have found one on OutletPC.com that is cheaper than Newegg.com, but again this is my first time doing this.

Is there a better processor out there? And is there a better wholesale site for me to look at that is dependable and fairly priced with a quality component?

All help is greatly apprecieated!

Wirehead

Number One - What is your Budget? :D

Yes, there are much better cpu's than the C2Q 9400.

NewEgg is a Reputable Reseller. They offer Low-Prices, Great Shipping Rates and Fast Processing. You may find a few good deals at a Reseller like OutletPC, but will the service match up? I doubt it.

I have not decided on a budget yet because this is something I'm not in a rush to do and I surely don't have $1500 laying around either. So I'm going to build what I want for whatever price it happens to take. If I have to save up for a part here or there then that's what I'll do, but what I definately don't want to do is pay for more than what I need. I just want to build a rig that will play the newest video games for the next 4 or 5 years at a higher setting.

I just want to build a rig that will play the newest video games for the next 4 or 5 years at a higher setting.