Buying or Build

Status
Not open for further replies.

x3ns0r

Solid State Member
Hi,

I'm pretty new to the PC building

and i'm getting myself a new system (alienware aurora alx with dual nvidia gtx 295 1 GB and 6GB RAM,I7 970) ($ 1299,- incl shipping and taxes here in holland)

would i have been cheaper by building this system myself or not?

my requirements:

i need to be able to edit HD video's fast
HD resolutions need to be supported
VGA port
USB 2.0 or better
Sound card
silent
nice Case :p
64 bit
able to overclock easily
absolute no framedrops in high end applications/games

Yes, it would be less expensive most likely. Also, you will be able to get better quality parts. I don't know much about the best place to shop online in Holland, but I am sure someone on the forums can point you in the right direction.

$1299 for Dual 295 GTX's and an i7 970?

SLi GTX 295's put you at $1100 alone. Also, I've never heard of an i7 970, maybe you are referring to the i7 975? If so .. that chip alone is $950!

And, the GTX 295's are 1792MB, not 1024MB cards... so something here is very wrong.

GFX & CPU = $2000 without Mobo, Case, Ram, Hard Drive, DVD Rom ...etc

$1299 for Dual 295 GTX's and an i7 970?

SLi GTX 295's put you at $1100 alone. Also, I've never heard of an i7 970, maybe you are referring to the i7 975? If so .. that chip alone is $950!

And, the GTX 295's are 1792MB, not 1024MB cards... so something here is very wrong.

GFX & CPU = $2000 without Mobo, Case, Ram, Hard Drive, DVD Rom ...etc

ok i had to input those out of my messed up memories (didn't have the specs in front of me)

Order receipt:

Alienware® aurora ALX
system specs:
* Intel® Core™ i7 975
* Dual 1GB NVIDIA® GeForce® GTS 295 - SLI® Enabled
* 6GB Triple Channel 1600MHz DDR3
* 1TB RAID 0 (2x 500GB SATA-II, 7,200 RPM)
* Single Drive: 24X CD/DVD burner (DVD+/-RW)

Price:

EU 1299,- / $ 1 765