Advice for my first time build please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

steves85

Baseband Member
Hi my name is steve and i just joined this great site. I am very tech savy although i have never built my own pc before. Well the time has come and I have researched almost every area and need a few opinions from professionals.
Uses: Games, adobe ps, flash cs4, dreamweaver, web browsing, music, dvd copying.
I must admit i dont play high end games like far cry or mw2 on the pc as i have a xbox 360 and hdtv for that. However since im building from scratch i figure why not have the option there.

Heres my start list:
CASE Cooler Master Centurion 5 II
PSU CoolerMaster*850W Silent Pro
MOTHERBOARD Gigabyte GA-P55-UD3h P55
CPU Intel i5 750
MEMORY 2x 2gb corsair/kingston
FANS 2x ac12025l fans
HDD Western Digital 500gb 32mb cache ncq
VIDEO CARD Geforce 9800GT
DVD DRIVE asus drw22 b2st sata
Windows 7 Home premium
Monitor undecided as yet.

Now my questions:
1. In terms of ram, which is better for me performance wise. S/S or D/S

2. Reading other posts my PSU looks extremely high considering im not looking for the ultimate gaming machine yet.

3. Would the stock CPU cooler be adequate for my setup with the i5 750, or do i need to look into other cooling pieces.

I would like everyones opinion as i want as much info on this as possible. Im from Australia so some of my components are rather limited, and i dont think ordering from overseas would work out very cost effective.

Thanks guys.

EDIT: I feel this setup will allow me to upgrade in the future as my current pc is maxed out.

2. Yes, it is very high; with your setup 500W will be plenty.

3. It will be fine unless you want to overclock the CPU.

orihS ‪‪‪Shiro;1774296 said:
The "professionals" you asked didn't seem to help you very much, eh?
9800 GT...
WD 500Gb HDD
850w Cooler Master PSU

???
Who suggested that stuff?