RGB LED Fan Controller (custom electronics project)

Status
Not open for further replies.
That's the part I'm not sure about. My programming knowledge on PC right now extends to the Linux command line only, so all of my starting apps will probably be Linux command line apps. I would like a GUI for Windows but don't know of an easy language to do that. I also don't know how to access the serial port in Windows. Maybe I'll try Visual Basic or something, maybe Visual C++ (I know C++ just not the visual part). For starters I'll probably control it using RealTerm (a fancy terminal program for the serial port), just type in a string of bytes and dump it to the port to change colors. Eventually I'd like a program on my web page (it's going in a server that does have HTTP) to either click on colors or slide 3 sliders per LED to adjust color but I have zero experience in web programming.

Try AutoHotKey. It's a really easy language to learn, and (thanks to an autohotkey program someone wrote) it has a GUI creator. You drop in whatever buttons, displays, windows, etc. you want then the program creates a script for you to edit so you can input all your variable values.

Finally installed all 4 LED's, though I think I may have damaged one of them with the soldering iron (the blue wouldn't come on until I hit it with straight 5V for a while, then it seems to work fine). Anyways, made a quick video of my color-cycling program. Now I have the basic hardware down so I can start doing some real programming.

YouTube - RGB LED Fan Controller Test 1

EDIT: Wrote a new program for the microcontroller that takes serial data to change each LED and fan speed individually. I made some interesting color combinations with it...

RGB

Blue and Yellow

"Windows XP Colors"

"Windows Vista Colors"

Then I stuck it in the front of my PC just to see what it would look like:

Update: