problems overclocking

Status
Not open for further replies.

plumber4578

In Runtime
Why the hang can't I overclock my puter beyond 2.6??? I read all these threads that my CPU can go to like 3.0. Is it my RAM that is paired with my CPU that is causing my probs? I am new at overclocking and is getting frustrated!

Do you have Hardware Monitor or another Program like RealTemp to monitor your temperatures?
http://www.cpuid.com/download/hwmonitor/HWMonitor_115_setup.exe
Do you have CPU-Z downloaded to keep tabs on your actual cpu and memory speeds?
http://www.cpuid.com/download/cpuz/cpuz64_153.zip
Do you have the latest Bios Update installed for your mobo?

You should also download LinX (stability testing).
http://www.youwatched.com/datajay/linx(0.64).7z

Post a screenshot of LinX, Hardware Monitor, CPU-Z (the cpu and memory tabs, you'll have to open CPU-Z twice to show both windows) running so we can see what's happening. And if you would tell us what bios settings adjustments you have made it would also help.

Speedfan will work but it would be my last choice. Hardware Monitor will show you the temperatures and so much more (and it will help to see the so much more).

I have a really dumb question. How do you post a screen shot of these things?? I tried to run the linX and it would install. All other monitors are installed

a couple things that might be going screwy that i noticed. with the CPUID program my CPU fan speed0 goes to zero and than to 15,000, back to zero and then 15,00, so on and so forth.
Another thing is that with the CPU-Z program i noticed that my multiplier always changes for X6 toX9 changing my speed from 2.4 to 1.6. it just goes back and forth like the CPU fan.
This can't be normal can it??

You can post a screenshot by first taking the screenshot either with an image capture program, or just simply pressing PRNT SCRN button and then pasting it to photoshop or ms paint. Upload the image to Photobucket, or something like that, and then