Buying a laptop

Status
Not open for further replies.

Smack

Baseband Member
So I'm looking for a new laptop to replace my current desktop, which is 6 years old and pretty much obsolete. Though it works perfectly fine for web browsing and chatting though, so can't have any complaints about not getting value for money.

Now I'm using Ebuyer at the moment to look for computers, and I've found this one here that doesn't have an operating system. Now thats fine, since as a student I can get Windows 7 for £40. Now this is the laptop I'm looking at. It will cost £410 in total with Windows 7, which works out at about $660, give or take a couple of dollars.

And this is the system:
Product Description
This superb performance Intel based Laptop PC is ideal for use anywhere. Optimised for high performance computing requirements, this system utilises high performance components suitable for this size of chassis.

The motherboard at the heart of this Intel Core2Duo T6600 system provides onboard LAN, built in stereo speakers and integrated Vista Premium ready 2D/3D graphics. A 250GB SATA hard drive provides ample storage, whilst the 4GB of DDR2 RAM will be plenty to handle most software applications.

Please note that this laptop PC does not come with an operating system. Ebuyer recommends using genuine Microsoft Software and is Windows Vista compatible.

Processor
* Intel T6600 Core 2 Duo Dual Core Processor 2.2Ghz,
* 2MB Cache
* Intel GL40 chipset

Memory
* 4GB (4GB Max) DDR2
* Memory Slot: 2 x SO DIMM

Hard Drive
* 250GB SATA II Hard Drive

Optical Drive
* Super multi DVDRW

Software
* No Operating System
* Includes drivers
* Compatible with 64bit

Display
* 15.4” Diagonal Size Screen

Audio
* Integrated Speakers

Input Devices
* Keyboard and Touchpad

Networking
* Network Interface: 10/100 LAN
* Wireless LAN 802.11b/g

Dimensions
* Width 268mm
* Depth 359mm
* Height 37mm (front) 41mm (rear)
* Weight 2.5kg

Power Supply
* 6 Cell Battery

Interfaces
* 3 x USB 2.0 ports