Suggestions on Computer I'm Building

Status
Not open for further replies.

andrewmontano

Beta member
Alright, well I've never built a computer before but I plan to for the first time. Here are the specs for the computer I wish to build. If anyone has suggestions of things I'm missing or changes I should make I'd GREATLY appreciate it as I really have no accessible guidance in regards to this.

SPECS

Motherboard: Asus Rampage II Extreme
Power Supply: CORSAIR CMPSU-850TX 850W ATX12V 2.2
Case: Corsair Obsidian 800D ATX Full Tower
Graphics Card: XFX HD-597A-CNF9 Radeon HD 5970
Memory: CORSAIR DOMINATOR 12GB (6 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3
Harddrive: Hitachi Deskstar 7K1000 (Terabyte)
CPU: Intel Core i7-920 Bloomfield 2.66GHz LGA 1366 130W Quad-Core Processor
DVD Drive: SAMSUNG BLACK SH-S223

Looks pretty solid, nice choice on the case too. A couple of things I would change is, depending on what exactly you plan to do with the PC, move down to 6GB of RAM as that is more than sufficient for most (what speed is that ram anyway? You will want at least 1600mhz), and switch out the that Hitachi for a Western Digital Black 1tb. Have you looked into SSD's? That would be a great addition to your build. You could add a 80-160GB SSD for your primary, and have the 1tb as data/storage. Again, all depends on what you plan to do with the PC and of course your budget.