Need help with first gaming computer build?

Status
Not open for further replies.

unsung

Baseband Member
Please excuse my grammar.

Hi, I'm a college student with a bit cash left and I been wanting to build my own gaming computer about 3 years ago, but never had enough money to build one. My budget is $1200 or more and this computer will be strictly for gaming and nothing else really.

I do not need a keyboard, mouse, monitor, and speaker.

I am looking to play Call of Duty Modern Warfare 2 on MAX setting with full AA and high resolution. I am also looking to play future game particularly Guild Wars 2 when it come out at least on above average setting so I am looking for a top of the line graphic card but am not looking to buy the best graphic card there is unless the price fit right.

If you want to know anything about what I am looking for please let me know or if I am missing some info.

With that said what are you guys suggestion?

Thanks

do you need an OS or do you already have one? and what resolution is your monitor?

do you need an OS or do you already have one? and what resolution is your monitor?

I don't need an OS and I believe my resolution is 1600 x 1200 (I don't have my monitor currently with me) and it a 20 inch monitor.

Thanks

ok so this could be a start.
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - Computer Parts, PC Components, Laptop Computers, Digital Cameras and more!
Newegg.com - Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive -Bare Drive
Newegg.com - LITE-ON Black 24X DVD+R 8X DVD+RW 8X DVD+R DL 22X DVD-R 6X DVD-RW SATA CD/DVD Burner - Bulk - CD / DVD Burners

these come under budget, totaling $1,056 + shipping.

if you wanted to go with a core i7 920, you could squeeze it in but it would probably make you go over budget and it wouldnt really offer any major in-game performance improvements.