(another) i7 920 build - ehh - help needed

Status
Not open for further replies.

lifestoned

Beta member
Hey guys,

<skip this part if you don't care for background info>

I'm new. I'm from Israel (yeah, i know :silly:), and i'm buying a new computer soon.
I've been using my Barton 2500+/GF4MX400 for the last 6 years or so, and it served me well,
but i figure it's about time i'll upgrade, right ?

Considering the fact that i'll probably stick with this build for the next 6 years or so, i'm going high end. Consider the fact I'm from the middle east, and Taxing + Disturbution costs nearly double the Month-old technologies that get here, my high end ain't probably your high end.

Also, i can't buy from newegg (it's pretty popular around this forums, eh).

</skip>

The current build will cost me about 1750$ (or 1500$ without the screen), and that's around the area i'd like to stay - money wise. So if you suggest i'll upgrade something, please suggest what i should downgrade instead too...

The computer will mostly be used for games and audio recording/editing.. maybe some video editing down the road. Overclocking is something i'll probably get into later on, when i'll need it (circa 2012~, if i'm lucky, or 2010, if i'm not :crazy:)

So far these are the specs i think i'll go for :

CPU : i7 920

Mobo : ASUS ‏P6T Deluxe V2

Memory : ‏3x2GB G.Skill NQ Edition Triple Channel

GPU : Sapphire ‏HD 5770 New Edition 1GB GDDR5 DX11 2xDVI HDMI DP PCI-E

Hard Drive : WD Caviar Green 1 TB, SATA 3 Gb/s, 64 MB Cache

DVD-RW : ‏DVD±RW GH22LS50 x22 Black LightScribe Sata Retail‎

Case : ‏ ThermalTake V9 Mid Tower Black Gaming Case VJ40001W2Z (No PSU)

PSU : Chieftec ‏750W Modular 14cm fan, Active PFC, (24pin)

Screen : LG W2261VP 21.5'' LCD 2ms 1:50000 DVI HDMI WideScreen Black (Already Bought)

Keyboard/Mouse : ‏Microsoft Wireless Optical Desktop 1000 (Retail)

And now, for my conflicts/considerations :

Mobo - should i invest extra money in getting the ‏Asus' P6X58D ?